Skip Navigation

Jan Egeland, 2007-08 Weissberg Chair


The Beloit College 168th commencement will take place on Sunday, May 20 beginning at 11 a.m. CST. We are planning to hold the ceremony outside. At the moment, the weather looks to be a bit chilly with a chance of rain, so please plan on bringing an umbrella. More information about the ceremony and full schedule of events is available on the commencement website. Also, for those unable to attend, we will live stream the ceremony at, and the recording will be made available via our YouTube channel after the event has ended. 

Congratulations to the Beloit College Class of 2018!

More information

UN Conflict Mediation Advisor Jan Egeland named 2007-08 Marvin Weissberg Chair in International Studies

Jan EgelandThe Weissberg Chair for 2007-2008 was Jan Egeland, who served as the UN's lead coordinator for humanitarian assistance from 2003-2006. The UN appointed him to a new advisory position related to conflict mediation in March 2007.

Mr. Egeland's compassion and deep commitment to humanitarian, human rights and peace work spans more than 25 years. Prior to joining United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA), he was the Secretary General of the Norwegian Red Cross. From 1999 to 2002, he was the United Nations Secretary-General's Special Adviser on Colombia. Mr. Egeland's distinguished career also includes service to his Government as State Secretary in the Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Egeland is the author of the book A Billion Lives: An Eyewitness Report from the Frontlines of Humanity and in 2006 was named by Time Magazine as one of “the 100 most influential people of the 20th century.”

Visit schedule


Conference: April 5 - Humanitarian Relief in the Wake of Manmade and Natural Disasters
Participants: Scott Straus, Roberta Cohen, Jan Egeland, Andrea Lari, Adam Isacson

Workshop: April 4-5 - Preparing Students for Responsible Citizenshp
Participants: Matt Tedesco (Beloit College), Peter Schwartzman (Knox College), Rebecca Judge (St. Olaf College), Beth Dougherty (Beloit College), Rebecca Hovey (World Learning), Carol Wickersham (Beloit College), Regina McGoff (Augsburg College)