Skip Navigation

Miller Upton Forum

Each year, through the contributions of that year's Miller Upton Scholar, the Miller Upton Forum engages the Beloit College community in the great questions of what drives the wealth and well-being of nations. Each year's Miller Upton Scholar is selected for the importance of her or his work in advancing our knowledge about how to promote wealth and well-being, and is joined during the four day Forum by other top scholars.

Previous Miller Upton Scholars

  • 2017 — Michael Greenstone, Milton Friedman Professor in Economics, University of Chicago.
  • 2016 — Deirdre Nansen McCloskey, Distinguished Professor of Economics and of History, Professor of English and of Communication, University of Illinois at Chicago, Emerita
  • 2015 — Yasheng Huang, International Program Professor in Chinese Economy and Business, and Professor of Global Economics and Management, MIT Sloan School of Management
  • 2014 — Robert N. Stavins, Albert Pratt Professor of Business and Government, and Director of the Harvard Environmental Economics Program, Harvard University
  • 2013 — James D. Gwartney, Gus A. Stavros Eminent Scholar Chair, Florida State University and co-author of the annual report, Economic Freedom of the World.
  • 2012 — Timur Kuran, Professor of Economics and Political Science, and Gorter Family Professor of Islamic Studies, Duke University.
  • 2011 — Elinor Ostrom, Co-recipient of the 2009 Nobel Memorial Prize in Economics.
  • 2010 — Israel Kirzner, Emeritus Professor of Economics, New York University.
  • 2009 — Hernando de Soto, President, Institute for Liberty and Democracy.
  • 2008 — Douglass North, Co-recipient of the 1993 Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences.

The papers delivered at each year's forum are published in The Annual Proceedings of the Wealth and Well-Being of Nations.