Lois and Willard Mackey Chair in Creative Writing

Established in the late 1980s by Willard Mackey’47 in honor of his wife, Lois’45, this program brings an author of distinction to the Beloit College campus for all or part of one semester to teach an advanced course in creative writing. “Mackeys,” as these professors are called, also give public readings, which are among the most anticipated and best attended events on campus.


Kimberly Blaeser

Kimberly Blaeser


Poet, photographer, and scholar, is past Wisconsin Poet Laureate and founding director of Indigenous Nations Poets. More about Kimberly Blaeser

Lynda Barry, Author & Artist

Lynda Barry


Painter, cartoonist, writer, illustrator, playwright, editor, and teacher known for inspiring imagination and creativity. More about Lynda Barry

Bonnie Jo Campbell, 2022 Mackey Chair

Bonnie Jo Campbell


Novelist, short fiction writer, and a 2011 Guggenheim Fellow. More about Bonnie Jo Campbell

Marilyn Chin

Marilyn Chin


Chinese American poet Marilyn Chin is the winner of the Poetry Foundation’s Ruth Lilly Prize for lifetime achievement. More about Marilyn Chin

Anne Elizabeth Moore, 2019 Mackey Chair

Anne Elizabeth Moore


Editor-in-chief of the Chicago Reader, author and winner of many best book awards. More about Anne Elizabeth Moore

Rebecca Makkai, 2017-2018 Mackey Chair

Rebecca Makkai


Chicago-based author and winner of the Chicago Writers Association award, and The Borrower, a Booklist Top Ten Debut which has been translated into eight languages. More about Rebecca Makkai

Robert Wrigley, 2016-2017 Mackey Chair

Robert Wrigley


Recipient of the Kingsley Tufts Award, The Poets’ Prize, the San Francisco Poetry Center Book Award, and a Pacific Northwest Book Award, as well as fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation, the National Endowment for the Arts, and the Idaho Commission on the Arts. More about Robert Wrigley

George Dawes Green, 2015-2016 Mackey Chair

George Dawes Green


Created the global storytelling organization The Moth in 1997 and is the author of three highly acclaimed novels: The Caveman’s Valentine, The Juror and Ravens. More about George Dawes Green

Susan Choi, 2014-2015 Mackey Chair

Susan Choi


A recipient of fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and the Guggenheim Foundation More about Susan Choi

Scott Russell Sanders, 2013-2014 Mackey Chair

Scott Russel Sanders


Author of 20 books of fiction and nonfiction, and distinguished Professor Emeritus of English at Indiana University, where he taught from 1971 to 2009. More about Scott Russel Sanders

Kevin Young, 2012-2013 Mackey Chair

Kevin Young


author Author of seven books of poetry and finalist for the National Book Award and won the Paterson Poetry Prize. More about Kevin Young

Giles Foden, 2011-2012 Mackey Chair

Giles Foden


Best known for his award-winning novel, The Last King of Scotland and won a Whitbread First Novel Award and the Somerset Maugham Prize. More about Giles Foden

James McManus, 2010-2011 Mackey Chair

James McManus


A novelist, poet, and a winner of the Peter Lisagor Award for sports journalism. More about James McManus

Linda Gregerson, 2009-2010 Mackey Chair

Linda Gregerson


A 2007 National Book Award finalist, and an American Academy of Arts and Letters Award in Literature, three Pushcart Prizes, and a Kingsley Tufts Award. More about Linda Gregerson

Scott Russell Sanders, 2008-2009 Mackey Chair

Scott Russell Sanders


Author of more than 20 books, a range of novels, collections of stories, and works of personal nonfiction and Pulitzer Prize-nominated. More about Scott Russell Sanders

Richard Bausch, 2007-2008 Mackey Chair

Richard Bausch


Fiction writer who is the author of over 17 novels and short story collections and in 2004, he won the PEN/Malamud Award for excellence. More about Richard Bausch

Robert Stone, 2006-2007 Mackey Chair

Robert Stone


Called one of the best of the post-Vietnam fiction writers, won the National Book Award for Dog Soldiers (1974) and the PEN Faulkner prize for A Flag for Sunrise (1981). More about Robert Stone

William Least Heat-Moon, 2005-2006 Mackey Chair

William Least Heat-Moon


One of America’s preeminent travelogists whose Blue Highways (1982) spent 42 weeks on The New York Times bestseller list. More about William Least Heat-Moon

Billy Collins, 2003-2004 Mackey Chair

Billy Collins


Appointed as the 2001-2003 Library of Congress Poet Laureate Consultant in Poetry and was a Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize finalist. More about Billy Collins

Pam Houston, 2002-2003 Mackey Chair

Pam Houston


Award-wining author whose stories have been selected for the Best American Short Stories Collections, the O. Henry Awards, the Pushcart Prize, and the Best American Short Stories of the Century. More about Pam Houston

Patricia Hampl, 2001-2002 Mackey Chair

Patricia Hampl


Regents Professor and McKnight Distinguished Professor at the University of Minnesota where she teaches in the master of fine arts program of the English department. More about Patricia Hampl

Bei Dao, 2000-2001 Mackey Chair

Bei Dao


Prominent Chinese dissident poet who has been repeatedly nominated for the Nobel Prize. More about Bei Dao

Ron Carlson, 1999-2000 Mackey Chair

Ron Carlson


Novelist and writer of short stories who currently teaches at the University of California-Irvine. More about Ron Carlson

Li-Young Lee, 1998-1999 Mackey Chair

Li-Young Lee


Highly acclaimed Asian-American poet and winner of many awards for his riveting autobiographical verse. He won won the 2002 William Carlos Williams Award and he Delmore Schwartz Memorial Poetry Award. More about Li-Young Lee

Amy Hempel, 1997-1998 Mackey Chair

Amy Hempel


One of the most prominent of the new American “minimalist” writers. She won the Rea Award for the Short Story in 2008, and she received the PEN/Malamud Award for Short Fiction in 2009. More about Amy Hempel

Denise Levertov, 1996-1997 Mackey Chair

Denise Levertov


Wrote and published 20 books of poetry and was perhaps the most influential woman poet in the United States since the 1940s. More about Denise Levertov

Edward Hoagland, 1995-1996 Mackey Chair

Edward Hoagland


Author best known for his nature and travel writing. His nonfiction has been widely praised and he is the recipient of two Guggenheim Fellowships. More about Edward Hoagland

Peter Matthiessen, 1994-1995 Mackey Chair

Peter Matthiessen


One of the most prolific American writers since World War II. He is co-founder of The Paris Review, and received a National Book Award. More about Peter Matthiessen

Carolyn Kizer, 1993-1994 Mackey Chair

Carolyn Kizer


Author of eight books of poetry and Pulitzer Prize winner. More about Carolyn Kizer

Rick Bass, 1992-1993 Mackey Chari

Rick Bass


Author of 26 books who’s nature-writing fiction has been called one of “tomorrow’s classics” by critic George Plimpton. More about Rick Bass

Ursula K. LeGuin, 1991-1992 Mackey Chari

Ursula K LeGuin


One of the most celebrated writers of speculative fiction in the United States who won the Hugo and Nebula awards in 1970. More about Ursula K LeGuin

William Stafford, 1990-1991 Mackey Chair

William Stafford


One of the best-loved poets in the United States who received a 1962 National Book Award was appointed the twentieth Poet Laureate Consultant in Poetry to the Library of Congress in 1970. More about William Stafford

Tess Gallagher, 1987-1990 Mackey Chair

Tess Gallagher


A noted writer of both poetry and short fiction, and one of the few writers equally acclaimed in both genres. More about Tess Gallagher

Raymond Carver, 1988 Macey Chair

Raymond Carver


One of the most influential American writers of short fiction since 1975. More about Raymond Carver

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read our Web Privacy Policy for more information.

Got it! ×