Crom Visiting Philosopher

Sponsored by the department of philosophy, the Crom program is a series which brings distinguished and influential philosophers to campus for two days of talks, classroom visits, and lectures. It is named in honor of Scott Crom, a longtime and legendary philosophy professor at Beloit College who died in 2013.

The series, established in 2010, is made possible by gifts from John Selzer’77 and Roy J. Schneiderman’77.


Michael Sandel


Philosopher who teaches political philosophy at Harvard University and writes about justice, ethics, democracy, and markets. More about Michael Sandel

Crom Visiting Philosopher, Paul Taylor

Paul Taylor


Philosopher, author, and W. Alton Jones Professor of Philosophy at Vanderbilt University. More about Paul Taylor

J. Baird Callicott, 2022 Crom Philosopher

J. Baird Callicott


Philosopher instrumental in developing the field of environmental philosophy. More about J. Baird Callicott

Georgia Warnke

Georgia Warnke


Distinguished Professor of Political Science at UC Riverside and Director of the Center for Ideas & Society. More about Georgia Warnke

David Boonin

David Boonin


Professor of philosophy at the University of Colorado-Boulder and director of the department’s Center for Values and Social Policy. More about David Boonin

Andy Clark, 2018 Crom Philosopher 

Andy Clark


Chair in Logic and Metaphysics at the University of Edinburgh and co-creator of the extended mind hypothesis. More about Andy Clark

Linda Martin Alcoff, 2017 Crom Philosopher 

Linda Martin Alcoff


Professor of Philosophy at Hunter College and the CUNY Graduate Center with interests in epistemology and social justice. More about Linda Martin Alcoff

Robert Pippin


Evelyn Stefansson Nef Distinguished Service Professor in the Committee on Social Thought, the Department of Philosophy, and the College at the University of Chicago. More about Robert Pippin

Margaret Battin, 2015 Crom Philosopher 

Margaret Battin


Distinguished professor in the department of philosophy at the University of Utah and adjunct professor of internal medicine in the division of medical ethics. More about Margaret Battin

Tyler Burge, 2014 Crom Philosopher 

Tyler Burge


Professor of philosophy at UCLA since 1971 and an expert of the philosophy of mind and psychology. More about Tyler Burge

Richard Berstein, 2013 Crom Philosopher 

Richard Bernstein


Vera List Professor of Philosophy, former dean of the graduate facility at The New School, and expert in American pragmatism. More about Richard Bernstein

Jeff McMahan, 2012 Crom Philosopher 

Jeff McMahan


Professor of philosophy at Rutgers University and leading active scholar in just war theory. More about Jeff McMahan

Daniel Dennett, 2011 Crom Philosopher 

Daniel Dennett


Internationally recognized philosopher, author, and professor exploring the origination and implications of human consciousness and free-will More about Daniel Dennett

Martha Nussbaum, 2010 Crom Philosopher 

Martha Nussbaum


Ernst Freund Distinguished Service Professor of Law and Ethics at the University of Chicago. More about Martha Nussbaum

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read our Web Privacy Policy for more information.

Got it! ×