Skip Navigation

Psychology Awards and Prizes

Bingham Awards in Psychology

A fund to provide scholarships to psychology majors at Beloit College was established in 1969 by Millicent Todd Bingham in memory of her husband, Walter Van Dyke Bingham, a 1901 graduate of the College and a leading industrial psychologist. Income from the Bingham Fund is available for annual grants to two or more students majoring in psychology who plan to do graduate work in that field. Selection of recipients for these awards is made by the psychology faculty with the approval of the President of the College. The winners of Bingham awards for the following year are announced at the College's annual Honors Day Convocation.

Criteria for selection of Bingham Scholars include the nature of the student's plans for graduate study in psychology or a related field, and the student's level of academic achievement in the department and the College. Transfer students who fulfill the above criteria also are eligible for Bingham awards.

The Guy Allan Tawney Prize

The Tawney Prize is awarded each year to sophomores who show great potential in the major. The prize is named after Professor Guy Allan Tawney (1870-1947), the first psychologist to teach at Beloit and a student of Wilhelm Wundt, the founder of modern psychology.  The winner(s) of the Tawney Prize is announced at the College's annual Honors Day Convocation and their name is engraved on a plaque that is on permanent display in the department office.