Learn more about Beloit College’s COVID-19 plan.

Underkofler Excellence In Undergraduate Teaching Award

This award gives students an opportunity to recognize and honor a professor for their excellence in classroom teaching.

The James R. Underkofler Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award is Beloit College’s highest teaching honor.

The Underkofler Award is sponsored by Alliant Energy and named for the company’s longtime CEO. The award was established in 1995 in appreciation of Mr. Underkofler’s long and distinguished service with Alliant Energy and in tribute to his deep respect for undergraduate teaching.

Each spring, at the beginning of the semester, students have an opportunity to nominate a faculty member for the award from a list of faculty who have taught at Beloit College for at least three years. A committee consisting of past Underkofler winners then meets to discuss the nominees and select a winner. The Underkofler Award is presented at the Faculty/Staff Recognition Party each spring.

Make a Nomination

Nominations from students are open each year for a few weeks at the start of the spring semester.

Previous Award Recipients

Professors who have previously received the Underkofler Excellence In Undergraduate Teaching Award:

  • Lisa Anderson-Levy (2012)
  • Greg Buchanan (2004)
  • Beth Dougherty (1999)
  • Bob Elder (1992)
  • Jennifer Esperanza (2021)
  • Yaffa Grossman (2005)
  • Natalie Gummer (2013)
  • Chris Johnson (2002)
  • Sonya Maria Johnson (2020)
  • Rob LaFleur (2001, 2011*)
  • Sylvia López (2019)
  • Debra Majeed (2017)
  • Beatrice McKenzie (2014)
  • Olga Ogurtsova (1998)
  • Donna Oliver (2004)
  • Jo Ortel (2003)
  • Ranjan Roy (2000)
  • Phil Shields (2000)
  • Paul Stanley (2009)
  • Sue Swanson (2018)
  • Matt Tedesco (2007)
  • Pablo Toral (2016)
  • Charles Westerberg (2006)
  • Steve Wright (2002, 2008*)
  • Ken Yasukawa (1995)
  • Daniel Youd (2010)

*Note: While professors could receive the award multiple times in the past, former winners are no longer eligible for the award under WAICU/Alliant’s current guidelines.

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read our Web Privacy Policy for more information.

Got it! ×