Skip Navigation

Campus Stories


It's Time to Celebrate our Faculty and Staff

April 19, 2019

Beloit College will recognize the many contributions of faculty and staff at the 2019 Recognition Party, held on April 25, at 4 p.m. in Moore Lounge, Pearsons Hall.

Highlights of the event include representatives from Alliant Energy Foundation, sponsors of the James R. Underkofler Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award, presenting Beloit's highest teaching honor to Sylvia López, professor and holder of the Harry C. Moore Chair in Modern Languages and Literatures.

Also at the event, colleagues will celebrate nine of their peers when a group of highly respected faculty members receive emeriti status, as they prepare to retire from full-time teaching. András Boros-Kazai (political science), Paul Campbell (mathematics and computer science) David Ellis (mathematics and computer science), William Green (Logan Museum/museum studies), Steven Huss-Lederman (mathematics and computer science), Ian Nie (music), John Rapp (political science), Larry White (psychology), and Ken Yasukawa (biology) will be recognized and receive their emeriti citations from a selected colleague. The emeriti celebration is a new addition to the Recognition Party in 2019. Over recent years, faculty emeriti had been recognized as part of the Commencement ceremony.

The Recognition Party is an annual event hosted by the Provost's Office. Books and articles published by faculty and staff will be on display that afternoon, the Academic Achievements booklet of faculty/staff accomplishments will be distributed, and refreshments will be served at a reception immediately following the event.