Skip Navigation

Seniors from 13 regional high schools join Beloit College as Porter Scholars

Monday, August 20, 2012

Accepted students enroll in two tuition-free classes

MEDIA CONTACT: Hilary Dickinson at or 608-363-2849

On Tuesday, Aug. 28, Beloit College will welcome 59 area high school students from southern Wisconsin and northern Illinois as Porter Scholars. It is the largest class of its kind in the program’s approximately 50-year history.

These high school seniors will explore fields not available at their own schools − such as anthropology, sociology, biochemistry, geology and economics − or enrich their academic experience through higher level studies in other fields of interest. While they work closely with college faculty and current Beloit students, they will also be preparing to become successful college students themselves.

“The Porter Scholars, area high school seniors who have excelled in their studies, are a welcome addition to Beloit College classrooms,” said Nancy Benedict, vice president for enrollment. “Likewise, Beloit College is very happy to provide this opportunity to young adults in our community who are looking to earn college credit in subject areas that are not always offered in their high schools.”

To qualify as a Porter Scholar, students must rank in the top 10 percent of their class and be recommended by their high school counselor.

Accepted students receive a full tuition scholarship for up to two courses (one per semester in their senior year of high school).

“We know that for many of the students, participating in the Porter Scholars program has enhanced their college applications and provided unique learning opportunities,” Benedict said. “I would also add that we are grateful for the local school counselors and teachers who encourage their qualified students to apply and support them through the application process.”

This year’s Porter Scholars come from 13 high schools. They are as follows:

  • Twenty students from Beloit Memorial High School: Dayton Bennett; Cleus Cain; Ethan Cervantes; Emma Conover-Crockett; Grant Crouch; Michael Cummins; Connor Day; Samantha Deforest-Davis; Margo Dodson; Megan Gauvin; Crystal Griffin; Megan Johns; Devin Jones; Autumn Nelson; Megan Polglaze; Amy Rapp; Bentley Reese; Daeun Shim; Mariel        White; and Emily Wick.
  •  Seven students from F. J. Turner High School: Andrew Bartz; Paige Frendahl; Natalie Meyers; Gabriela Gagula; Jeffrey Pickett; Pamela Voegeli; and Zhiheng Zhou.
  •  Twelve students from Hononegah Community High School: Claire Collins from Roscoe, Ill.; Gianna Dingillo from Roscoe, Ill.; Alexandra Mueller from Rockton, Ill.; Clairanne Porter from Roscoe, Ill.; Emma Porter from Rockton, Ill.; Natalie Prescott from Roscoe, Ill.; Shelbey Puppe from South Beloit, Ill.; Tatianna Reyes from Roscoe, Ill.; Erinn Rogowski of Rockton, Ill.; Elyse Vischulis from Rockton, Ill.; Lillian Wellen from Rockton, Ill.; and Danielle Walsh from Roscoe, Ill.
  • Two students from South Beloit High School: Ricki Hickok and Matthew Saari.
  • Roscoe, Ill., resident Emily Carroll from Rock County Christian High School.
  • Five students from North Boone High School: Nicole Abraham; Caitlin Bottcher; Kristen Lee; Madison Schuster; and Shannon Zelek. All are from Poplar Grove, Ill.    
  • Three students from Harlem High School: Jacob Taylor and Melissa Trites of Loves Park, Ill., as well as Zachary Wirtz of Machesney Park, Ill.
  •  Kira Christianson from Edgerton Senior High School.
  • Two students from Brodhead High School: Michaella Fleming and Megan Olson.
  • Two students from Parkview High School: Stephanie Varilek of Brodhead, Wis., and Jarrett Warden of Beloit, Wis.                
  •  Emily Moss of Janesville, Wis., from Milton High School.
  •  Fontana, Wis., resident Matthew Ripkey from Big Foot High School.      
  •  From iQ Academy, an online high school, Victor Williams of Beloit, Wis.
  •  Ciel Eckard-Lee from Brodhead, Wis., who is homeschooled.

For more information on the Porter Scholars program, click here.