To read about Beloit’s ongoing coronavirus response, visit our COVID-19 information site.

David & Marion Stocking Prize

Open to students from all departments; the prize is awarded to the student who submits the best non-fiction prose. This prize was established by friends in 1984 when two beloved English professors retired. David, who joined the faculty in 1948, and Marion, who began in 1954, are perhaps best known for editing the Beloit Poetry Journal. They also began the Beloit Poetry Journal Collection, which includes poetry, fiction, and criticism for students interested in contemporary world literature.


Winner: Sarah Lynn Yeck
Honorable Mention: Therese Elizabeth Lydon

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read our Web Privacy Policy for more information.

Got it! ×