To read about Beloit’s Fall 2021 plans, visit our Back at Beloit information site.

2021 Hamlin Garland Award Winner

The winner of the 7th Annual Hamlin Garland Award for the Short Story is Sean Williamson, for his story, “Never the Hero.”

Here’s what Michael Byers, this year’s judge, had to say about the winning story—Sean Williamson’s “Never the Hero:”

This story demonstrates a writer in full command – moving across a whole life in a handful of pages, finding damage and solace in unlikely moments, its people carrying their hearts forward into one question after another. Tough, tender, sweet and real, told in a voice of beautiful, persuasive originality, this story will stick with its readers for a long time.

The other finalists for this year’s contest were:

  • “White Noise” by Kathryn Henion
  • “An Empty Egg” by Sam Zagula
  • “Three Days in Denmark” by Daniel Libman
  • “A Drowning” by Jacqueline Eis
  • “Don’t the Magic Come From God” by Elizabeth Trueblood
  • “Josie” by Meagan Perry
  • “Productive Aging” by Peter Kazon

Thank you to all submitters for making this year’s contest a success!

Keep an eye out for a full version of this story, as well as last year’s Hamlin Garland Award winning story, to be posted soon!

February 23, 2021

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read our Web Privacy Policy for more information.

Got it! ×