To read about Beloit’s Fall 2020 plans, visit our Back at Beloit information site.

Beloit Fiction Journal

Publishing the best in contemporary short fiction since 1985.

Cover image for Beloit Fiction Journal, Volume 32, 2019.

The Beloit Fiction Journal publishes the best in contemporary short fiction. Traditional and experimental narratives find a home in our pages. We publish new writers alongside established writers. As one of the few fiction-only journals in the country, we’re able to feature as many as fifteen new stories per issue. We publish fiction in a variety of lengths, and occasionally accept excerpts.

Work first appearing in BFJ has been reprinted in award-winning collections, including the Norton Anthology of Short Fiction, the Flannery O’Connor Award, the Milkweed Fiction Prize, and the Iowa Short Fiction Award. Authors published by BFJ include A. Manette Ansay, Rick Bass, Mark Brazaitis, Lan Samantha Chang, Gary Fincke, Lauren Groff, Robin Hemley, Karl Iagnemma, Dennis Lehane, Cris Mazza, John McNally, Maura Stanton, Ron Wallace, Gordon Weaver and Mark Wisniewski.

Beloit Fiction Journal 2020
Beloit Fiction Journal News

Beloit Fiction Journal 2020

The winner for the 6th Annual Hamlin Garland Award for the Short Story is Michele Host for their story, “Day Game.”

“The Resurrection of Rakesh Sharma”

“The other boys were busy playing cricket on the street when Rakesh went and changed his religion.”


“The Alaska Girl”

“He knew what she looked like because there she was, eureka, in the background of the single picture she had sent him.”


This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read our Web Privacy Policy for more information.

Got it! ×