Skip Navigation

Text Only/ Printer-Friendly


See the full schedule of #MakingEquityRealatBC events occurring May 2-6.

Second Annual Giving Day a Great Success

The Beloit College community is generous and showed its heart and soul during its second annual Giving Day on Wednesday, April 20, 2016. In just 24 hours, the college raised over $65,000 from more than 450 supporters.

Not only did the gifts far surpass the original goal of $25,000, the event also raised $25,000 more than last year. Beloit is touched by the fantastic response received from supporters and is grateful to be backed by such a strong foundation of alumni, parents, faculty, staff, and friends. These gifts help make ‪#‎BeloitPossible for the next generation of Turtles, Bucs, and Beloiters.

The unconditional support, enthusiastically offered by our alumni, parents, and friends is a tribute to the character of our community, and the value that we all collectively recognize in the mission we seek to advance. We at Beloit are privileged to have a community so willing to invest in the future of our great institution, and our students. For this, we are grateful,” said Mark Wold’95, Senior Director of Alumni & Parent Relations and Annual Support.

Thank you to all who supported Beloit College’s second annual Giving Day. As College President Scott Bierman often says, it’s “turtles all the way down.”

Share this

Buc Report: Four alumni to be inducted into 2013 Hall of Honor

September 17, 2013 at 5:18 pm

At the 49th Annual Athletic Hall of Honor Induction Ceremony this Saturday (Sept. 21), alumni, coaches, faculty, and current student-athletes alike will gather to recognize some of Beloit College’s finest athletes. Free and open to the public, the ceremony begins at 6 p.m. in the atrium of the Center for the Sciences.

The addition of the four inductees–Brian Cox’92, Brian Balick’99, Tatjana Kopylova’02, and Ioulia Lebedeva’03–will swell the ranks of the Hall to 135.

Below are brief descriptions of the four distinguished athletes by order of class year:

Brian Cox’92, football and golf

Brian Cox 

The Buccaneer football team had put together three winning seasons in the last 21 years when Cox first stepped on the field as a freshman in 1988.  Four years later, the four-season starter had helped lead the squad to a 29-9 record, including back-to-back Midwest Conference North Division Championships as a junior and senior.  A two-time All-Midwest Conference selection, he still holds the top single-season spot in completion percentage and two of the top five top passing yardage seasons and is ranked in the top four in five career passing categories.  Cox, who also was a four-year letter-winner for the Buccaneer men’s golf team, was nationally-ranked in passing efficiency for three straight years and finished his esteemed career as the winningest starting quarterback in Beloit history with 28 victories.

Brian Balick’99, football


As a four-year letter-winner for the Buccaneer football team, Balick still ranks in the top three in every career rushing category, including the third-most yards and touchdowns on the ground.  A three-time All-Midwest Conference pick, including First Team as both a junior and senior, his 18 rushing touchdowns as a senior remains the single-season record.  He was the team’s Offensive Player of the Year three times and the team MVP twice.  He was selected as the Wisconsin Private College Player of the Year as a senior when he led the MWC in rushing.  He also earned All-American laurels twice, including Third Team in 1998.

Tatjana Kopylova’02, tennis


During her three years as a letter-winner on the Buccaneer women’s tennis team, Kopylova won six individual Midwest Conference Championships, playing at #1 singles and #1 doubles her first season before moving to #2 singles in her last two seasons.  She was undefeated during her three-season MWC career, helping to lead the squad to MWC Championships in 2000 and 2001.  Including both singles and doubles play, she won 129 matches overall, with 53 coming during her junior season and 43 as a senior, and was undefeated in MWC play.  In those two seasons she had an overall mark of 96-6 while earning All-American honors both seasons.

Ioulia Lebedeva’03, tennis


By the end of her three-season career on the women’s tennis team, Lebedeva was the winningest player in the program’s history, with 159 wins. She was a three-time All-American and a winner of six individual Midwest Conference Championships who twice finished as the national runner-up in doubles at the Intercollegiate Tennis Association’s Small College Championships. Her play helped lead the Bucs to MWC Championships in all three of her seasons.  In total, she won over 90 percent of her matches and was undefeated in MWC play.