Skip Navigation

Underkofler, Kang award-winners announced

April 24, 2013

Beloit College is synonymous with excellent undergraduate teaching, no doubt about it. Tomorrow, the college will take some time to publicly celebrate the work of our faculty and staff.

The Office of the Provost and Dean of the College invites the campus community to attend the annual Underkofler/Kang Award Ceremony and Recognition Party tomorrow (Friday, April 26) at 4 p.m. in Moore Lounge of Pearsons Hall.

At that time, Associate Professor of Religious Studies Natalie Gummer will be awarded the 2012-13 James R. Underkofler Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award; Director of International Education Elizabeth Brewer and Associate Director of International Education Joshua Moore will receive the 2012-13 Phee Boon Kang’73 Prize for Innovation in Teaching with Technology.

Based on student recommendations, the Underkofler Award is funded by Alliant Energy and given in recognition of a professor’s outstanding work with students. In nominating her for this award, Gummer’s students told of a professor who is engaging, insightful, and inspiring.

Natalie Gummer 

“When in her class it is impossible not to deeply engage with the subject at hand,” wrote one of Gummer’s students. “She has the amazing gift of teaching students to challenge their entire worldview in one short semester.”

Gummer has been with Beloit College since 2001.

In recognition of their development, implementation and teaching of a storytelling course, "Using Digital Storytelling for Reflection and Integration," colleagues Brewer and Moore will receive the Kang Prize, awarded annually in honor of innovative teaching and creative leveraging of technology to improve learning.

Betsy Brewer 

In the course, students learn to create short films using digital images, narration, and music, all while reflecting on cultural lessons and experiences garnered while studying abroad or off-campus; the class culminates with a digital film festival.

Josh Moore 

Brewer came to Beloit College in 2002; Moore joined the staff in 2007.

The awards ceremony will be immediately followed by the annual Recognition Party. Other major faculty and staff accomplishments like books, publications, performances, grants, awards, and presentations will be celebrated.

Please join us in celebrating the accomplishments of our faculty and staff!