Skip Navigation
Phone system is currently down

Our campus phone system is currently down due to a lightning strike. To reach the admissions office, call 608-363-2500. Email addresses are available via our phone directory. Thank you for your patience.


See the full schedule of #MakingEquityRealatBC events occurring May 2-6.

Second Annual Giving Day a Great Success

The Beloit College community is generous and showed its heart and soul during its second annual Giving Day on Wednesday, April 20, 2016. In just 24 hours, the college raised over $65,000 from more than 450 supporters.

Not only did the gifts far surpass the original goal of $25,000, the event also raised $25,000 more than last year. Beloit is touched by the fantastic response received from supporters and is grateful to be backed by such a strong foundation of alumni, parents, faculty, staff, and friends. These gifts help make ‪#‎BeloitPossible for the next generation of Turtles, Bucs, and Beloiters.

The unconditional support, enthusiastically offered by our alumni, parents, and friends is a tribute to the character of our community, and the value that we all collectively recognize in the mission we seek to advance. We at Beloit are privileged to have a community so willing to invest in the future of our great institution, and our students. For this, we are grateful,” said Mark Wold’95, Senior Director of Alumni & Parent Relations and Annual Support.

Thank you to all who supported Beloit College’s second annual Giving Day. As College President Scott Bierman often says, it’s “turtles all the way down.”

Share this

Selzer lecturer on campus this week

February 11, 2013 at 5:00 pm

021213 sandwich

Richard J. Bernstein, the 2013 Selzer Visiting Philosopher, will be on campus this week to visit classes and lecture.

The Selzer Visiting Philosopher Series, established in 2010, was made possible by a gift from John Selzer’77.

While in Beloit, Bernstein will give a lecture on “The Pragmatic Turn” (he has a book by the same name) Wednesday (Feb. 13) at 7:30 p.m. in Moore Lounge of Pearsons Hall. He argues that many philosophical themes from the past 150 years are derived from classical American pragmatists, and will discuss these theories in Wednesday night’s lecture.

Bernstein is the Vera List Professor of Philosophy and former dean of the graduate facility at The New School. He has written a dozen books including The Pragmatic Turn (2010),The Abuse of Evil: The Corruption of Politics and Religion since 9/11 (2006), and Radical Evil: A Philosophical Interrogation (2002); he specializes in American pragmatism, social and political philosophy, critical theory, and Anglo-American philosophy.

He received a B.A. from the University of Chicago, a B.S. summa cum laude from Columbia University, and his Ph.D. from Yale University. He took a faculty position at Yale, but in 1965, the university denied him tenure despite the initial unanimous support of his department, leading to student protests and eventually to reforms of the tenure system at Yale. This event, now called the Bernstein Affair, was “one of the most contested cases of tenure in the United States.” Bernstein then moved to a tenured position at Haverford College, where he taught for 23 years and became the T. Wistar Brown Professor of Philosophy before later moving to The New School, where the Richard J. Bernstein Endowed Prize Fellowship in Philosophy is awarded to distinguished philosophy students in his honor.

In 1981, Bernstein became founding co-editor of Praxis International, the revived journal of the Yugoslav Praxis School philosophical movement. In 1988, he served as president of the Metaphysical Society of America.