Skip Navigation

Professors and staff feted, awards distributed at Friday's annual recognition event

April 30, 2012

It's no secret that Beloit boasts some innovative, inspiring faculty and staff; on Friday (April 27) afternoon, the college took the time to publicly applaud some of their work at an annual recognition event. “This event celebrates what’s best about Beloit," said Ann Davies, provost and dean of the college.

Included at the event were the awarding of the James S. Underkofler Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award and the Phee Boon Kang'73 Prize for Innovation in Teaching with Technology. Both recipients received standing ovations as they accepted their awards.

Anderson Levy Underkofler

Nominated by students (some 60 professors were suggested this year) and funded by Alliant Energy, this year's Underkofler award went to Assistant Professor of Anthropology Lisa Anderson-Levy.

Described by students as "incredibly engaging" and "challenging," one wrote that “It’s not an exaggeration to say that she has changed the way I understand the world."

Lisa is pictured above (center) with Patricia Kampling, left, chief executive officer of Alliant Energy, and Wendy Wink, executive vice president of WAICU.

John Jungck

Established by alumnus and Trustee Phee Boon Kang'73, the Phee Boon Kang'73 Prize for Innovation in Teaching with Technology was this year awarded to Professor of Biology and Mead Family Professor of Sciences John Jungck. John is pictured above right with  Dr. James Ferwerda’53, a life trustee.

John was recognized for his leadership on the BioQUEST Curriculum Consortium, which has introduced tools for for creatively utilizing computers in education. 

“He has dedicated his career to improving undergraduate teaching nationally and internationally," said Davies.