Skip Navigation

Four to be inducted to Athletic Hall of Honor

December 6, 2010

Beloit College will induct four new members into its Athletic Hall of Honor on Jan. 22.

The four – Derek Gueldenzoph'93, Mike Paulmeier'94, Jamie Cassette Ball'97, and Ed DeGeorge, coach – will bring the total of the “Best of the Best” to 123.

On Saturday, Jan. 22, inductees will participate in a forum with current Buccaneer student-athletes , and will then be recognized during the women and men's basketball games against Knox College in Flood Arena. The women’s game tips off at 2 p.m., with the men's contest to follow.

The dinner and induction will begin following the conclusion of the men’s game, or approximately 6:15 p.m. Watch the Terrarium for details about how to register for the dinner.

The Athletic Hall of Honor 2011 inductees are:

Gueldenzoph mugDerek Gueldenzoph ‘93
A four-year letterwinner and three-time All-MWC forward, Gueldenzoph earned the team’s Golden Boot Award in each of his four seasons and still ranks as the fifth-leading scorer in Buccaneer men's soccer history with 32 goals. He was the team’s MVP as a junior and senior and also earned All-MWC Academic honors for three seasons.

Paulmeier Mug


Mike Paulmeier ‘94
A four-year letterwinner and three-time First Team All-MWC defensive lineman, Paulmeier is Buccaneer football’s all-time leader in sacks with 31, including 12 during his senior season. A    member of three straight Midwest Conference North Division Championship teams he was, to quote teammates and coaches, “quicker, smarter and more relentless in his pursuit of the ball carrier.”

CassetteBallJamie Cassette Ball ‘97
A four-year letterwinner and two-time All-MWC pitcher, Cassette Ball was the Most Valuable Player for Beloit’s first and only MWC Championships team in 1996.  During that season she was the winning pitcher in all 19 of the team’s victories while posting a 1.30 ERA and 133 strikeouts, all single-season records that still stand. She is the career record holder in victories with 58 and earned-run-average at 2.14.

DeGeorge MugEd DeGeorge, Coach
The winningest coach in Beloit College football history, DeGeorge amassed 135 victories and won six Midwest Conference North Division Championships during his 29-season tenure. DeGeorge’s Buccaneer teams especially excelled during the 1990s, going 58-38 overall and 40-18 in MWC play while winning five North Division titles, including three straight from 1990-92.