Skip Navigation

Text Only/ Printer-Friendly

#MakingEquityRealatBC

See the full schedule of #MakingEquityRealatBC events occurring May 2-6.

Second Annual Giving Day a Great Success

The Beloit College community is generous and showed its heart and soul during its second annual Giving Day on Wednesday, April 20, 2016. In just 24 hours, the college raised over $65,000 from more than 450 supporters.

Not only did the gifts far surpass the original goal of $25,000, the event also raised $25,000 more than last year. Beloit is touched by the fantastic response received from supporters and is grateful to be backed by such a strong foundation of alumni, parents, faculty, staff, and friends. These gifts help make ‪#‎BeloitPossible for the next generation of Turtles, Bucs, and Beloiters.

The unconditional support, enthusiastically offered by our alumni, parents, and friends is a tribute to the character of our community, and the value that we all collectively recognize in the mission we seek to advance. We at Beloit are privileged to have a community so willing to invest in the future of our great institution, and our students. For this, we are grateful,” said Mark Wold’95, Senior Director of Alumni & Parent Relations and Annual Support.

Thank you to all who supported Beloit College’s second annual Giving Day. As College President Scott Bierman often says, it’s “turtles all the way down.”


Share this

MEET: Josh Hickman

October 21, 2010 at 2:32 pm

 

HickmanName: Josh Hickman
Occupation: Digital resources librarian
Hometown/residence: Marion, Ind. (hometown); Milwaukee, Wis. (adopted hometown)
Hobbies: Hiking, rafting, trivia, chess, reading, concert-going, crossword puzzles.
What are a few of your favorite things? Petrichor (that smell you notice after it rains); Used book stores; Halloween.
What three items go in your desert island backpack? Water, flare gun, radio transmitter.
What’s on your desert island jukebox? Sleater-Kinney, PJ Harvey, Basia Bulat, 16 Horsepower, Rasputina, White Ghost Shivers.
Any do-over requests to lodge with the universe? Explain. I’d like to go back and change my undergrad major from psychology to anthropology (which was my minor).  It wouldn’t have changed my career path, and psychology is certainly interesting, but I just think I had a knack for anthropology – it came naturally to me.
Favorite meal? Meatloaf and mashed potatoes.
What can’t you live without? Caffeine.
What do you do in your free time? Go on walks, preferably in the woods, or sit at a coffee shop with a good book.
If you could be reincarnated, what person/thing would you like to be? Myself.
Who are your top-three fantasy dinner party guests? Kurt Vonnegut, Mark Twain, Benjamin Franklin.
Which talent would you most like to have/Name a talent you have? I’d like to have some sort of musical ability.
Beatles or Stones? No thank you.
What do you most look forward to? Paying off my student loans.