Skip Navigation
Beloit Fiction Journal

2017 Hamlin Garland Award Winner

January 23, 2017 at 3:48 pm
By Chris Fink

Dean Bakopoulos has chosen "The Resurrection of Rakesh Sharma," by Pia Ghosh-Roy as the winner of BFJ's 2017 Hamlin Garland Award for the Short Story. Congratulations, Pia!

There were six excellent finalists, as follows:

  • "Extremity," by Jacob Appel
  • "Dear Second Husband," by Susan Finch
  • "We Love Anderson Cooper," by RL Maizes
  • "Narmu's Story," by Molly McNett
  • "Seabrook," by Raf Richardson
  • "The Vagabond," by Steve Trumpeter

Thanks to everyone who submitted to the contest!

Chris Fink