Skip Navigation
Beloit Fiction Journal

Hamlin Garland Award for the Short Story

Announcing the WINNER of the 2017 HAMLIN GARLAND AWARD for the SHORT STORY!

Dean Bakopoulos has chosen "The Resurrection of Rakesh Sharma," by Pia Ghosh-Roy as the winner of BFJ's 2017 Hamlin Garland Award for the Short Story. Congratulations, Pia!

There were six excellent finalists, as follows:

  • "Extremity," by Jacob Appel
  • "Dear Second Husband," by Susan Finch
  • "We Love Anderson Cooper," by RL Maizes
  • "Narmu's Story," by Molly McNett
  • "Seabrook," by Raf Richardson
  • "The Vagabond," by Steve Trumpeter

Thanks to everyone who submitted to the contest!

Chris Fink
BFJ editor

2018 Contest will open August 1, 2017 -- STAY TUNED!