Skip Navigation


Beloit College Athletics Hands Out 2014-15 Awards at SAAC Banquet

May 5, 2015

2015 SAAC Award Winners

Highlight Video

Beloit, WI – The Beloit College Student-Athletic Activities Committee and the Department of Athletics presented their annual awards for the 2014-15 year on Tuesday night at a banquet in Flood Arena.

In addition to the long-standing Athletic Department awards several SAAC-developed awards were also presented.

Following are the awards presented Tuesday night:


Highest Individual GPA

Women’s Tennis – Sarah Pipal           

Women’s Soccer – Fabi Ramirez

Women’s Swimming & Diving – Alicia Hoffman

Volleyball – Ellen Moses

Women’s Basketball – Lana Wieseman

Women’s Cross Country – Jessica Vogel

Women’s Track & Field – Emma Koenig

Softball – Hayley Barnett

Women’s Lacrosse – Vanessa Pena

Football – Mike Nolden

Men’s Soccer – Alex Carnes

Men’s Swimming & Diving – Will McAneny

Men’s Cross Country – Matej Jungwirth

Men’s Track & Field – Josh Smith

Men’s Basketball – Seth Sanderson

Baseball – Danny Corral

Female Freshman of the Year: 

Kelley Flint, Women’s Lacrosse

Male Freshman of the Year: 

John Murphy, Men’s Lacrosse

Female Sophomore of the Year: 

Ellie Waddle, Cross Country/Track & Field

Male Sophomore of the Year: 

Mason Dixon, Football

Female Inspirational Athlete of the Year: 

Megan Salm, Softball

Male Inspirational Athlete of the Year: 

Darth Winkler, Track & Field

Record-Breaking Performance of the Year: 

Tala Cornell, Softball & Ryan Kaveney, Baseball

Play/Performance of the Year: 

Kam Sallee, game-winning kick in overtime vs. Lake Forest in the Homecoming Football Game

Team Community Outreach: 


Highest Team GPA:

Women’s Cross Country


The Joe Kobylka Award is given each year to one female and one male senior athlete who have best exemplified the qualities of sportsmanship and team spirit throughout their careers.

Joe Kobylka Award-Female:  Megan Salm, Softball

Joe Kobylka Award-Male:  Seth Sanderson, Men’s Basketball & Jim Leyhane, Baseball


The Ed DeGeorge Award recognizes outstanding academic and athletic performances along with a commitment to service.  The recipients will have attended Beloit at the least three academic years, have a GPA of at least 3.25 for all courses, and have participated at least three years in varsity athletics.  In addition, recipients must have demonstrated a commitment to service as a student and be preparing to enter a service profession such as education, coaching, ministry or medicine.  

Ed DeGeorge Award-Female:  Sara DeLong, Cross Country/Track & Field

Ed DeGeorge Award-Male:  Danny Corral


The Donald “Red” Janssen Award was named after a former Beloit College Gold Men’s Basketball player who played for four seasons under legendary head coach Dolph Stanley.  Stanley thought Janssen was an underrated player who played a major role in the team’s success.  The honor goes to the top female and male junior athlete and is based solely on athletic accomplishments.

The Donald “Red” Janssen Award-Female:  Lana Wieseman, Women’s Basketball

The Donald “Red” Janssen Award-Male:  Ryan Kaveney, Baseball


The Ruth Peterson Award was named after the former Beloit staff member and alum who was also one of the leaders in the founding of the Midwest Athletic Conference for Women.  The honorgoes each year to the senior female athlete who best exemplifies the qualities of an athlete, scholar and leader.

The Ruth Peterson Award:  Karen Jones, Cross Country/Track & Field


The Pat Dawson Award has been given out since 1968 in honor of 1925 Beloit graduate Pat Dawson and goes to the senior male athlete who best exemplifies the qualities of an athlete, scholar and leader.

The Pat Dawson Award:  Alex Lawrence, Baseball

The Blanket Award is the highest honor an active Beloit College senior athlete can receive and is one of the criteria for election to the Beloit College Athletic Hall of Honor.

Blanket Winners:       
Emily Dorjath, Softball
Alex Lawrence, Baseball
Karen Jones, Cross Country/Track & Field

Posted In