Skip Navigation


Cornell, Stavrakas, Zucker represent Bucs on All-MWC Softball Team; Cornell Named All-Region

May 14, 2015

Grinnell, IA -- The Beloit College Softball had three record-setting players named to the 2015 All-Midwest Conference Softball team, released today by the Conference office.

Junior outfielder Tala Cornell (Beloit, Wis./Memorial) and junior outfielder Bethany Stavrakas (Oglesby, Ill./St. Bede) were both named First team while junior pitcher Jen Zucker (Glenview, Ill./Glenbrook South) earned Second Team honors.

Cornell had one of the best offensive seasons in Beloit Softball history, totaling a record 55 hits, 14 doubles (tied for most), six triples (tied for most) and a .478 batting average (tied for best).  She also had the second-most runs scored (34), home runs (eight), and RBIs (28).  She became the 12th player to reach the 100-career hits plateau and will enter her senior season tied for the top spot - with Hall of Honor member Carrie Bieniek - in career home runs with 17.

Cornell was also named to the National Fastpitch Coaches Association (NFCA) All-Great Lakes Region First Team.  In addition to her team accomplishments she led the MWC in four offensive categories, including batting average, slugging percentage, hits and total bases and tied for the league lead in triples.  She also finished second in on-base percentage and doubles, fourth in runs scored and tied for fourth in home runs.

Stavrakas was right on the heels of Cornell as far as outstanding offensive seasons, finishing with a .471 average, the fourth-highest in Beloit history, on 48 hits, the second-most in a season, 19 runs scored, 12 RBIs and a team-leading nine stolen bases.

Zucker finished with a 12-7 record, the 12 victories tied for the second-most in a season, and 129 strikeouts, the fourth most.  She had an ERA of 2.86 in 26 appearances totaling 125 innings.  Her 352 career strikeouts rank third in Beloit history.

The Bucs finished the season 15-21, their most wins since the 2006 season, and 7-7 in the MWC, their most Conference wins since 1997.

Posted In