Skip Navigation

Athletics News

Preview: MWC Track and Field Championships

February 21, 2018

The Beloit men’s and women’s track and field teams will be competing at the 2018 Midwest Conference Championships hosted by Ripon College Friday-Saturday, February 23-24.

A solid jump group highlights the Buccaneer women’s team featuring junior Aleesha Heinzen and first-year Eva Laun-Smith. Heinzen finished second in the triple jump a year ago at the MWC Championships and added a fourth place finish in the long jump and a sixth in the 60-meters final.

Laun-Smith has come on strong in her first-year campaign as a Buccaneer. She holds the top mark in the MWC and Beloit record in three events: 60-meter hurdles, long jump and triple jump. Laun-Smith’s triple jump mark is currently ranked 12th in Division III heading into the league championships.

The Beloit men look to make an impact at the championships led by juniors Jose Gutierrez and Jack Klobucar. Gutierrez finished third in the 60-meter hurdles a year ago and broke the school record in the event this season. Klobucar hopes to be in late season form to defend his 2017 800-meter title despite battling though injuries this season. The pair also made up half of the Buccaneer sprint medley relay team that placed third in 2017.

Fellow junior Dan Arkes will look to earn his spot on the podium after a fourth place finish in the 5,000-meter run a year ago. He also registered a sixth place finish in the 3,000-meter run in 2017.

Head Coach Brian Bliese noted, “The goal is to get as many athletes on the podium as we can. Naturally, we are looking for a conference championship but our goal is to see as many student-athletes from Beloit College on the podium.”

The 2018 MWC Championships hosted by Ripon College are scheduled to begin at 1 p.m. Friday, February 23 with the final event, the 4x400 relay slated for 3:05 p.m. Saturday, February 24.

The event will live streamed at

For additional information visit the Championship Website.

Click here to view the 2018 MWC Track and Field Championship Program.