Skip Navigation
Banner Image

About our 2015 Jurors

Ryan Mandell

Ryan Mandell earned a Master’s degree in Fine Art (Sculpture) from Indiana University and a Bachelor’s degree in Fine Art (Drawing) from the Milwaukee Institute of Art and Design. Before joining UW-Milwaukee as Assistant Professor and Area Head of Sculpture in 2013 Ryan taught at the University of North Texas, Pennsylvania State University, and Boise State University. His work, which is informed by research in the fields of architecture and urban planning, has been exhibited extensively across the U.S. and internationally, including past shows in Chicago, Dallas, Philadelphia, Budapest, and Berlin, including a recent solo exhibition with the Institute of Contemporary Art, Baltimore. He is a recent recipient of an Idaho Commission on the Arts and National Endowment for the Arts grant, and his work has been recognized by The Chicago Tribune, and Sculpture Magazine.


Frank Trankina

Frank Trankina received his Master of Fine Arts from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, a Master of Arts and Bachelor of Fine Arts from Northern Illinois University. Trankina was the first recipient of the prestigious Alexander Rutsch Award in Painting. His work is represented by galleries in Chicago and Tokyo, Japan and has been exhibited internationally and nationally in Cambridge, England, San Diego, Miami, Dallas, New York, Tokyo, and extensively in the Midwest. Trankina’s work is in numerous international and national private collections in Indonesia, Japan, New York and Washington DC as well as others, and is in public permanent museum collections including Rockford Art Museum, Illinois State Museum, Elmhurst College and the John Michael Kohler Arts Center. Trankina is a Professor of Art and Painting Area Coordinator at Northern Illinois University.