Skip Navigation
Beloit College
Banner Image

The Buc Report

What’s going on in the world of sports at Beloit? Find out in The Buc Report, a weekly series on the people and programs that comprise Buccaneer Athletics. A full archive of past entries appears below. 

Inside Buccaneer Sports: the blanket winners

May 7, 2012 at 12:23 am

This coming Thursday the athletic department will present the Athletic Honors awards at a ceremony in Moore Lounge in Pearsons.

The successor to what was called the “B” Club Banquet in the early years of athletics at Beloit, Athletic Honors recognize senior student-athletes as they close out their Buccaneer careers.

In addition to Senior Awards handed out by each head coach, major awards given include the Ruth Peterson Award, given to a female student-athlete; the Pat Dawson Award, given to a male student-athlete; the Joe Kobylka Team Spirit and Sportsmanship Award; and the Ed Degeorge Scholar-Athlete Award. The latter two Awards are given to both a female and male student-athlete.

In addition to these senior awards, the Donald E. “Red” Janssen Award is given to a junior female and male student-athlete.

But the most prestigious award is the Blanket Award, given to the “Best of the Best” during their careers at Beloit College.

Awarded since 1937, there have been 180 recipients to date, not including the 2012 honorees. The first recipients were James Calvert, Milton Anderson, Edmund Manger and Stanley Oberg, all class of 1937 graduates.

The largest group of blanket recipients came in 1951 when 19 were honored. That group was headlined by Ron Bontemps, Carroll Schumacher, Jerry Donley and George Baptist, all future Athletic Hall of Honor inductees. In 1993 16 student-athletes received a blanket, with six future Hall of Honor inductees included.

Susie Kalhorn ’78, one of the first standout volleyball players at Beloit College, was the first women to receive a Blanket, in 1978.    

Since 1937, many outstanding student-athletes have been awarded the highest honor an athlete can receive at Beloit College at the end of their career. Seventy-seven Athletic Hall of Honor inductees have come from the ranks of blanket winners.     


Go to to get the entire schedule and catch up on last week’s results.