Skip Navigation

The college will test its emergency alert system on Wednesday (Sept. 2) at 12:30 p.m. As a part of the test, all faculty, staff, and students should receive an email, phone call, and text message at or around the common hour.

Share this

Beloit College Athletics Hands Out 2013-14 Awards at SAAC Banquet

April 30, 2014 at 9:19 pm

SAAC Athletic Awards Banquet-2014Beloit, WI – The Beloit College Student-Athletic Activities Committee and the Department of Athletics presented their annual awards for the 2013-14 year on Wednesday night at a banquet in Flood Arena.

In addition to the long-standing departmental awards, in 2013 SAAC developed several additional awards that were given out.

Joe Davis’10, a former Buccaneer Football player and now a play-by-play announcer for ESPN, served as the master of ceremonies for the event.

Following are the awards presented Wednesday night:



Highest Individual GPA

Women’s Tennis – Alex Hinck           

Women’s Soccer – Caitlin Paterson

Women’s Swimming & Diving – Alicia Hoffman

Women’s Basketball and Volleyball – Leah Kruckman

Women’s Cross Country – Jessica Vogel

Women’s Indoor Track & Field – Sara DeLong

Softball – Emily Dorjath

Women’s Lacrosse – Sam Schonberger

Football – Patrick Donovan

Men’s Soccer – Alex Carnes

Men’s Swimming & Diving – John Kamada

Men’s Cross Country – Matej Jungwirth

Men’s Indoor Track & Field – Ethan Ley

Men’s Basketball – James Lazarcik

Baseball – Ethan Blumenthal


Female Freshman of the Year: 

Ellie Waddle, Cross Country/Track & Field

Male Freshman of the Year: 

Mason Dixon, Football

Female Sophomore of the Year: 

Shaunte Moss, Swimming & Diving

Male Sophomore of the Year: 

Ryan Kaveney, Baseball

Inspirational Athlete of the Year

Jenna Larsen, Women’s Basketball

Record-Breaking Performance of the Year: 

James Lazarcik, Men’s Basketball

Play/Performance of the Year: 

Men’s Lacrosse Come-from-Behind Win over Illinois Wesleyan on April 26, 2014

Team of the Year: 

Men’s Lacrosse



The Joe Kobylka Award is given each year to one female and one male senior athlete who have best exemplified the qualities of sportsmanship and team spirit throughout their careers.

Joe Kobylka Award-Female: 

Jenna Larsen, Women’s Basketball/Tara Grode, Softball

Joe Kobylka Award-Male: 

Sean Little, Men’s Soccer/Baseball


The Ed DeGeorge Award recognizes outstanding academic and athletic performances along with a commitment to service.  The recipients will have attended Beloit at the least three academic years, have a GPA of at least 3.25 for all courses, and have participated at least three years in varsity athletics.  In addition, recipients must have demonstrated a commitment to service as a student and be preparing to enter a service profession such as education, coaching, ministry or medicine.  

Ed DeGeorge Award-Female: 

Leah Kruckman, Volleyball/Women’s Basketball

& Camilla Jackson, Soccer/Track & Field

Ed DeGeorge Award-Male: 

Steve Dowden, Men’s Basketball


The Ruth Peterson Award was named after the former Beloit alumna (1938) who worked for the Admissions and Registrar's Departments after graduation.  She was the Commissioner of the Midwest Athletics Conference for Women and the first staff member at Beloit to earn emeritus status. The honor goes each year to the senior female athlete who best exemplifies the qualities of an athlete, scholar and leader.

The Ruth Peterson Award: 

Lauren McNanna, Women’s Basketball


The Pat Dawson Award has been given out since 1968 in honor of 1925 Beloit graduate Pat Dawson and goes to the senior male athlete who best exemplifies the qualities of an athlete, scholar and leader.

The Pat Dawson Award: 

James Lazarcik, Men’s Basketball

The Blanket Award is the highest honor an active Beloit College senior athlete can receive and is one of the criteria for election to the Beloit College Athletic Hall of Honor.

Blanket Winners:      

Felicia Carlson, Track & Field

Lauren McNanna, Women’s Basketball

James Lazarcik, Men’s Basketball