Skip Navigation

Text Only/ Printer-Friendly

Share this

Eight Buccaneer Men’s Basketball Players Named to NABC Honors Court; Team also Recognized

July 23, 2014 at 11:07 am

NABCKansas City, MO – Eight Beloit College Men’s Basketball players have earned mention on the National Association of Basketball Coaches Honors Court for the 2013-14 season.  The organization announced today.

The Buccaneers were also part of the Team Academic Excellence Awards for the second straight year, which recognizes outstanding academic achievement by a team with a cumulative grade-point-average of 3.0 or better for the 2012-13 season, counting the gpa’s of every member of the team.  The Bucs were one of 125 colleges and university honored nationwide, one of five Wisconsin schools and one of just two, with Illinois College, in the Midwest Conference.

The NABC Honors Court recognizes student-athletes who excelled in academics during the 2013-14 season.  The Court acknowledges the talents and gifts these men possess off the court and the hard work they exhibit in the classroom.  Criteria includes being a junior or senior who has been at their particular institution at least one year and maintained a cumulative grade-point-average of 3.20 or higher during the recently-completed academic year.

The Buccaneer honorees are Chris Bremner, a Studio Art major from Boulder, Colorado (Shining Mountain Waldorf School); Mitch Carlson, a Business Economics major from Pewaukee, Wisconsin (Lake Country Lutheran); Steve Dowden, an English/Education major from Walworth, Wisconsin (Big Foot); Max King, a Psychology major from Rosholt, Wisconsin; James Lazarcik, a Chemistry/Pre-Med major from La Crescent, Minnesota; Joe Poshepny, a Bio-Chemistry/Pre-Med major from Viroqua, Wisconsin; Seth Sanderson, a Biology and Education major from Malta, Illinois (I(ndian Creek); and Laramie Wieseman, a Biology/Education major from Lake Geneva, Wisconsin (Badger).

Bremner, Carlson, Dowden, King, Lazarcik and Poshepny completed their playing careers this past season while Sanderson and Wieseman are seniors to be.

The Bucs’ eight honorees were second to Illinois College’s nine among MWC teams, with St. Norbert putting seven on the team.  The Beloit group was also the most in the state of Wisconsin, which saw Concordia and Wisconsin-Stevens Point with six each, MSOE with five, Cardinal Stritch with four, Wisconsin-Eau Claire with three, Wisconsin-Madison and Wisconsin-River Falls with two each and Wisconsin Oshkosh with one.


2013-14 NABC Honors Court

2013-14 NABC Team Academic Excellence