Skip Navigation

Text Only/ Printer-Friendly

IMPORTANT:  Beloit College testing its emergency alert system today, Wednesday, January 28 (Read more.)

Share this

Buccaneer Athletics Recognizes 2011-12 Seniors at Annual Athletic Honors Ceremony

May 10, 2012 at 7:00 pm

2012 Athletic Award Winners

Beloit, WI – The Beloit College Department of Athletics recognized its 2011-12 senior student-athletes on Thursday evening, May 10, at the Athletic Honors Ceremony in the Moore Lounge, Pearsons Hall, on campus.

Senior Awards and special Department awards were given out, along with recognition of the 2012 Blanket Award recipients.

The Blanket Awards, the highest honor for a Beloit College Student-Athlete, signifying the “Best of the Best,” were presented to Molly Dickson (Egg Harbor, Wis.), Katy Sandt (Lake Crystal, Minn.), Sarah Stariha (La Salle, Ill.), David Bremner (Boulder, Colo.), Derek Carrier (Edgerton, Wis.), Jordan Jaenicke (Bourbonnais, Ill.), Kellen Sullivan (Helena, Mont.), Alex Norman (Elburn, Ill.), Brian Maughn (Sunrise, Fla.) and Terence Steward (Tampa, Fla.)

Other special Department awards presented were:

Joe Kobylka Award, given to a male and female student-athlete who have best exemplified the qualities of sportsmanship and team spirit throughout their careers:

Sarah Stariha (La Salle, Ill.)

Evan Mascitti (Madison, Wis.)

Travis Towns (Janesville, Wis.)

Ed DeGeorge Service and Scholar-Athlete Award, , given to a male and female student-athlete, recognizing outstanding academic and athletic performance along with a commitment to service:

Amani Edwards (Atlanta, Ga.)

Mark Coogan (Janesville, Wis.)

Ruth C. Peterson Award, given to a female athlete who best exemplifies the qualities of an athlete, scholar and leader:

Sarah Stariha (La Salle, Ill.)

Pat Dawson Award, given to a male athlete who best exemplifies the qualities of an athlete, scholar and leader:

Derek Carrier (Edgerton, Wis.)