Skip Navigation

Text Only/ Printer-Friendly

Share this

Buccaneers Complete MWC Sweep of Vikings, Reach 20 Wins

April 27, 2010 at 9:09 am
Drew Oswald

Beloit, WI -- The Beloit College Baseball team finished up a four-game Midwest Conference sweep of Lawrence University at Pohlman Field in Beloit on Tuesday night, winning 13-3 and 11-1.

The two wins gives the Bucs 20 victories on the season, marking the first time in program history they have posted back-to-back 20-plus win seasons. Beloit went 28-9 last year.

In game one LU jumped to a 1-0 lead in the top of the first but Beloit tied it in the bottom of the inning when Scott Slubowski tripled with one out and Ryan Schmitz followed with a single to drive him in.

The Vikings took a 3-1 lead in the third with a pair of runs but, again, Beloit responded, this time plating three in the bottom of three to take the lead for good. Mike Ross drove in two runs with a single and Jordan Jaenicke had an RBI groundout.

The Buccaneers scored three times in the fourth, with Mike Kovach hitting a sacrifice fly and Schmitz doubling in a run. The third run scored on an error.

Beloit made it 9-0 in the fifth on an RBI triple by Hunter Nelson and Drew Oswald's run-scoring single and tacked on three more in the sixth. Matt Bartz and Nelson drove in runs.

The Bucs went up 13-3 in the sixth on Mike Ross' RBI single before Andrew Edwards closed out his first collegiate win in the seventh.

In game two, the Bucs struck first with three in the opening inning, Schmitz hitting a sacrifice fly and Nelson a two-run double, and added four more in the third. In that inning both Jaenicke and Oswald had two-run singles.

Beloit made it 11-0 in the sixth with four runs. Schmitz had a two-run single, Nelson an RBI groundout and the final run scored on an error.

Lawrence got their lone run, unearned, in the seventh before the game was called.

Darren Pilcher went five shutout innings for the win.

The Buccaneers continue their busy week on Thursday when they play two at St. Norbert College in De Pere. Game time is at 1:00 p.m.