Skip Navigation

Share this

Baratti Co-Defensive Player of the Year; 11 Buccaneers Recognized on All-MWC Team

November 17, 2010 at 3:17 pm

Ripon, WI – Senior linebacker earned Co-Defensive Player of the Year honors and eleven Beloit College Football players were recognized as the 2010 All-Midwest Conference Football team was released this afternoon by the Conference Office.

Baratti, named First Team for the third straight season, shared the Defensive Player of the Year honor with linebacker Ricky Padilla of Illinois College.  Baratti led the MWC in tackles with 110, the third season he topped the century mark, and was second in tackles for loss with 15.5.  He finished his career at Beloit as the program’s all-time leader in tackles with 434.

Also earning First Team honors for the Bucs were junior wide receiver Derek Carrier, senior offensive lineman Kurtis Carlson, senior defensive back Michael Underwood and senior return specialist Andrew Christensen.

Carrier broke the Beloit record for receiving touchdowns in a season with 12.  He was second in the MWC in receiving yards per game, third in receptions per game and fourth in scoring.  He was named Honorable Mention in 2009.

Carlson earned the second All-MWC honor of his career after being named Honorable Mention in 2008.  A forty-plus game starter for the Bucs, he was the acknowledged anchor of the line at left tackle.

Underwood was fourth on the team in tackles with 53 while intercepting three passes and breaking up two.  This is his third All-MWC honor after being Second Team in 2009 and Honorable Mention in 2008.

Christensen completed his career as the all-time leader in kickoff return yardage with 2,389 and was second in career all-purpose yardage with 4,549.  He was third in the league in all-purpose yardage this season with 136.4 yards per game.  He also had two kickoff return touchdowns, which gave him 22 career TDs by rushing, receiving or kick returns.  He was also named to the All-MWC Second Team as a wide receiver.  In total he was All-MWC five times, twice as a First-Teamer.

In addition to Christensen junior running back Terence Steward and senior defensive lineman Valde Raizys were named to the Second Team. 

Steward led the Buccaneers in rushing with 340 yards while scoring three touchdowns.  His numbers this season put him just short of 1,600 rushing yards for his career.  His three rushing TDs give him 22 in his three seasons, sixth on the Beloit all-time career chart.  He was a First Team selection in 2008 and Second Team in 2009.

Raizys earned his first All-MWC honor after finishing second in the league in sacks with six.  He was fifth on the team in tackles with 47 while also recording 12.5 tackles for loss.  He also had an interception, two pass defenses and a forced fumble.

Earning Honorable Mention notice sophomore tight end Eddie Boyd, senior wide receiver Julian Ross, senior defensive lineman Quentin Layne and junior defensive back Vince Salucci.

Boyd caught seven passes for 61 yards in 2010 and was a valuable blocker for the running game.  He was also an Honorable Mention pick in 2009.

Ross finished his career as one of the best receivers in Beloit history.  He holds the career marks for receptions, receiving yards and receiving touchdowns.  This season he caught 48 passes for 593 yards and four TDs, giving him 173 catches for 2,540 yards and 19 touchdowns in his four seasons.  He was a Second Team pick in 2009 and Honorable Mention in 2007.

Layne, a converted running back, earned his first All-MWC nod.  He had 25 total tackles in 2010, including seven for loss and two sacks.  He also forced and recovered a fumble while filling the middle of the line.

Salucci was third on the team in tackles with 59 while intercepting two passes and breaking up nine, sixth in the MWC.  He was also an Honorable Mention pick in both 2008 and 2009.

The Buccaneers hosted their End-of-the-Season Senior Banquet on Saturday evening, November 6, following their season-ending win over Illinois College. 

Baratti earned his third straight Most Valuable Player honor while Christensen was given the Ed DeGeorge Award, presented to seniors.  Carrier was given the Rick Clayton Award as the top junior.  Linebacker Matt Fogerty was given the Carl Nelson Award as the top sophomore and offensive lineman Chris Corpuz was given the Rookie of the Year award.